Categories
Uncategorized

International Duplicators Guild Meeting: October 7th, 2021

4PM GMT–9AM L.A.– 11AM Chicago –  12PM NYC –  5PM London –  6PM Amsterdam–  1AM(Fri.) Tokyo

90 Minutes

Zoom Link:https://uiowa.zoom.us/j/97416277796?pwd=ZW9MQXFQN1ZQN25XeExVQUtNeEQvUT09

Hello duplicators!!

This week we will hold our 3rd online meeting –  I hope you will join us!

If you have a technical (or other) question,  information to share or a project to showcase, please let us know asap. The agenda for this meeting will be flexible and focused on asking questions and working together to find answers. 

A couple of items on the agenda so far:

A video report from Chisinau, Moldova — interview by Kalmia Strong with KOLXOZ, a Tiraspol-Prague samizdat (self-publishing) collective that uses thermal printing and other outdated technologies and creates autonomous self-production and community/social spaces.

Technical troubleshooting Q & A: Send questions or post them in the chat for Erwin and others to help.

Do you have questions? Feel free to email us!

See you on Thursday…

Rich & JS

This live, online forum will serve as part of the ongoing effort to raise awareness of the mimeograph and other pre-digital duplicators and their use in creating zines, prints, posters, chapbooks and other types of art. The name, “Duplicators Guild,” is a playful nod to the confraternal printer’s trade organizations of old, but is not meant to imply any official membership –  only a willingness to engage in friendly conversation over our shared interests. We assert that while our cottage industry may be hyper-local, our networked community is increasingly global.

Organizers/Moderators:   

Rich Dana, Publisher, OBSOLETE! Press, Adjunct Instructor, University of Iowa Center for the Book   rich@obsolete-press.com

JS Makkos, Founder, Intelligent Archives, Doctoral Candidate, Louisiana State University School of Art & Design  jsmakkos@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *